Plymouth Albion team v Gloucester

Plymouth Albion head coach James Shanahan has selected a strong team for Fridays pre season clash with Gloucester at Kingsholm (kick off 5pm).

For Aviva Premiership team Gloucester, the game against Albion will be the first of two they will be playing on Friday. Later in the evening Gloucester will be taking on the Scarlets.

Shanahan has said for a number of weeks that the team selected to play Gloucester will be close to that which takes the field for the opening Championship game against Jersey in two weeks time.

Shanahan believes that all his squad should be aiming to play at the highest level and that there is no better test than an away match against a Premiership team.

Forwards coach Rhys Oakley, who joined Albion in the summer from Northampton Saints, captains the club for the second time.

From the team that started the game against Redruth the previous weekend, there are four changes.

Winger Jack Arnott, who is dual registered with Exeter Chiefs, is given a chance to claim the number 14 jersey. Ruairi Cushion is named at scrum half and there are two changes in the pack. Hooker Davy McGregor, who has just started his second spell at Albion, comes into the front row and another new signing Eoghan Grace starts at open side flanker. Shanahan is one of the ten replacements named by Albion.

Plymouth Albion: 15 Chris Elder, 14Jack Arnott, 13 Toby Howley-Berridge, 12 Pale Nonu, 11 Jamie Davies, 10 Dan Mugford, 9 Ruairi Cushion, 1 Dave Morton 2, Davy McGregor, 3 Matt Shields, 4 Ien Ascroft-Leigh, 5 Brett Beukeboom, 6 Herbie Stupple, 7 Eoghan Grace, 8 Rhys Oakley (capt)

Reps: 16 Gareth Evans, 17 Ben Rogers, 18 Tom Harrison, 19 Sean-Michael Stephen, 20 Sam Matavesi, 21 Paul Rowley, 22 Rob Langley, 23 Heath Stevens, 24 Lewis Warner, 25 James Shanahan

Gloucester: 15 Martyn Thomas, 14 Steph Reynolds, 13 Tim Molenaar, 12 Ryan Mills, 11 Drew Cheshire, 10 Jonny Bentley, 9 Jimmy Cowan; 1 Dan Murphy, 2 Dan George, 3 Tom Heard; 4 Elliott Stooke, 5 Will James; 6 Matt Cox, 7 Andy Hazell (capt), 8 Gareth Evans.

Reps: 16 Koree Britton, 17 James Gibbons, 18 Yann Thomas, 19 Tom Hicks, 20 Lewis Ludlow, 21 Reece Boughton, 22 Billy Burns, 23 Mike Tindall, 24 Jaryd Robinson, 25 Will Haywood.